Road Rules

 

Golf Cart Laws for Myrtle Beach

 A person operating a permitted golf cart must be at least sixteen years of age and hold a valid driver’s license. The operator of a permitted golf cart being operated on a highway or street must keep a valid drivers license on their person at all times.


*During daylight hours only, a permitted golf cart may be operated within four miles of the address on the registration certificate and only on a secondary highway or street for which the posted speed limit is thirty-five miles an hour or less.

*During daylight hours only, a permitted golf cart may be operated within four miles of a point of ingress and egress to a gated community and only on a secondary highway or street for which the posted speed limit is thirty-five miles an hour or less.

*During daylight hours only, within four miles of the registration holder’s address, and while traveling along a secondary highway or street for which the posted speed limit is thirty-five miles an hour or less, a permitted golf cart may cross a highway or street at an intersection where the highway has a posted speed limit of more than thirty-five miles an hour.

*During daylight hours only, a permitted golf cart may be operated along a secondary highway or street for which the posted speed limit is thirty-five miles an hour or less on an island not accessible by a bridge designed for use by automobiles.


 For the purposes of this section, “gated community” means any homeowners’ community with at least one access-controlled ingress and egress which includes the presence of a guard house, a mechanical barrier, or another method of controlled conveyance.
 


 

Golf Cart Laws - North Myrtle Beach

Welcome to South Carolina's Grand Strand. We hope you enjoy your visit to one of the best groups of beaches in the nation. You will find the people in this area to be friendly and hospitable.

There are restrictions on the use of golf carts in the State of South Carolina. Golf carts must be insured and registered with the SC Dept. of Motor Vehicles and may not be operated:

  •  On primary highways (This includes US 17; Sea Mountain Hwy.; Ocean Blvd. from Sea Mountain Hwy. to 27th Ave. South; and 27th Ave. South from Ocean Blvd. to US 17)
  •  More than 4 miles from your residence
  •  After dark (½ hr. after sunset until ½ hr. prior to sunrise)
  •  By an unlicensed driver
  •  On any sidewalk

Parents or guardians allowing an unlicensed child to operate a golf cart are subject to a fine in excess of $200. Golf carts being operated in violation of state law are also subject to being towed at owner/renter's expense.

To ensure safe operation of golf carts, the cart should not carry any more passengers than it is designed for. A golf cart is a vehicle and therefore it is subject to the same laws that govern the operation of an automobile upon a public street.


 



image8